Events & Workshops

S. C. Publishng is a teaching company that provides a variety of workshops, performances and consulting for emerging writers.  

1616341967214.jpg
unnamed.jpg
wccc.jpg
unnamed.jpg
lift logo.jpg
Poetry, Workshops, Residencies & Readings

Upcoming Poetry Readings & Workshops

 

December 3-5, 2020 @ 10-12 AM

Artistic Verses @ the PFAC

Newport News High Schools

Newport News VA

Reception - Feb 13,2021

 @ 11: AM 

 

JUNE 22-24, 2021

DOWNING GROSS CULTURAL ARTS CENTER - ARTS CAMP

ARCH PROGRAM 

Paint Me a Poem Residency

 

2021 HRYP  Poetry Slam Season
Poetry, Prose & Pizza
Open Mic Series
When / Where:

Quarterly Events held in Suffolk 

Chesapeake & Prince George, Va

Poetry, Prose & Pizza Series    is a quarterly Open Mic series where writers of all genres can share their work in a safe, friendly family environment.  

 

 

Suffolk Art Gallery

Suffolk, VA

Thurs, February 18, 2021 @ 6 PM

Thurs, April 15, 2021 @ 6 PM

Thurs, July 8, 2021 @ 6 PM

Russell Memorial Library

Cheaspeake, VA

 

CLOSED DUE TO COVID

Prince George Library

Prince George,  VA

CLOSED DUE TO COVID

   

The Frederick Douglass Speaking Tour

 

Poet, Author and Spoken Word Performer Nathan M. Richardson captures completely the physical and spiritual essence of the great writer, orator and abolistionist Frederick Douglass.

 

 

* 2021 Calendar *

Southside Stem Academy

Frederick Douglas Live

Friday, February 2, 10 AM

Westmoreland County Community College

Frederick Douglas Live

ZOOM

Tuesday, February 16, 11 AM

 

African American Historical Society

of Western Maryland / ZOOM

Frederick Douglass Speaks

Wednesday, February 17, 2021 

Black Leadership Council

Fiserv  / ZOOM

Harriet Tubman & Frederick Douglass

February 18, 2021 

Atlanta Public School System

3-4 Grades / ZOOM

Tuesday, February 23, 2021 @ 11AM

African American Historical Society

Harrisonburg, VA / ZOOM

Tuesday, February 23, 2021 @ 7 PM

AAUW

American Assoc of University Women

Suffolk/Portsmouth Chapters

ZOOM

Wednesday, February 24, 2021 @ 4pm

The Langley School

McLead, VA / ZOOM

Friday, February 26, 2021 @ 8 AM

AMERICAN CRUISE LINES

Frederick Douglass Sets Sail

April 9 - Port/Norfolk

April 30 - Port/Yorktown

May 15 - Port/Yorktown

October 28 - Port/Yorktown

November 7 - Port/Yorktown

November 24 - Port/Yorktown 

African American Historical Society

of Western Maryland / ZOOM

John Brown & Frederick Douglass

Wednesday, May 8, 2021 

Fuse Fest 2021

Teens with a Purpose

Norfolk, VA 

Saturday, May 22, 2021 / 3-9PM

Chesterfield Public Library 

Juneteenth - The Unabridged Narrative

Slavery Beginning to End

Chesterfield, VA

Saturday, June 12, 2021

Juneteenth Celebration

City of Praise Fellowship

Ahoskie, NC

Sunday, June 13, 2021 @ 1PM 

Juneteenth Conversation

w/ Frederick Douglass

The Havre De Grace

Arts Collective

Havre de Grace, Maryland

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Juneteenth Conversation

w/ Frederick Douglass

Newport News, VA

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

 

 

 

United Way of South Hampton Roads

Frederick Douglass Speaks on Juneteenth

Norfolk, VA 

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Lead Virginia 2021

Fort Monroe Theatre

Fort Monroe, VA

Friday, June 18, 2021

Juneteenth Conversation

w/ Frederick Douglass

Jamestown, Virginia

Saturday, June 19, 2021

 

William Paco House

4th of July Celebration

w/Frederick Douglass

Annapolis, MD

Sunday, July 4, 2021

The North Hampton Slave Quarters

Mitchellville, MD  

Monday, July 5, 2021

RIDE THE RAILS - DOUGLASS & SUFFRAGISTS
Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott & Mr. Douglass 

Seneca Falls, NY

 Sunday, July 18, 2021

Hoover's Hometown Days

Frederick Douglass Speaks

West Branch, Iowa

August 6-7, 2021

 

 

 

Frederick Douglass returns to Ireland

Dublin, Ireland 

August 31 - September 11, 2021

Pasquotank County High School

Elizabeth City, NC

September 24, 2021

2021 VA Fire Equity & Diversity Conference

Delta Hotels Marriott

Chesapeake, VA

October 20-22, 2021

COMING 2022

Pasquotank County High School

Elizabeth City, NC

Friday, February 5, 2022

Lynchburg Civil War Rounddtable

 Holiday Inn Downtown

 601 Main Street., Lynchburg, VA

Wednesday, March 8, 2022 @ 7 Pm

4th of July Celebration

Marion, Massachusetts

Saturday, July 3-4, 2022 

2020 Douglass Speaking Tour

Synapse - Five Rings Meeting

575 Lynhaven Pkwy

Virginia Beach, VA 

Tuesday, January 9, 2020 @ 8 AM

Frederick Douglass &

The United State Colored Troops

Ebenezer Baptist Church

Virginia Beach, VA 

Sunday, January 19, 2020 / 3-5 pm

Bon Air Presbyterian Church

Chesterville, VA 

Sunday, January 26, 2020 - 2-4 PM

James Hurst Elementary

Portsmouth, VA

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020

University of Texas @ Permian Basin 

Odessa, TX

February, 2-5 2020

African American History Association of Maryland

in partnership with

Washington County Museum of Fine Arts

401 Museum Dr 

Hagerstown, MD

Sunday, February 9, 2020 @ 6 PM

Stonewall Jackson Middle School

Mechanicsville, VA 

Tuesday, Februrary 11, 2020

King & Queen County High School

King & Queen County, VA 

Wednesday, Februrary 12, 2020

P.D. Brown Branch Library

Douglass - Woman's  Rights Man

50 Village St., Waldorf, MD

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Mountian Ridge High School

In partnership with

African American History Association of Maryland

Frostburg, MD

Friday, Feb 14, 2020

Mariners Museum 

Newport News, VA 

Saturday, Februrary 15, 2020

Metropolitan Baptist Church

Suffolk, VA 

Sunday, Februrary 16, 2020 @ 2PM

Virginia State University

Black History Month - Read In

Petersburg, VA 

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 @ 5:30PM

OFFICE EQUAL OPPORTUNITY @  CMS

Washington, DC

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Little Bethel Baptist Church 

Chucatuck, Virginia 

Sunday, February 23, 2020 @ 11 AM

Miles College 

Fairfield. AL 

Monday, February 24, 2020 @ 11 AM

Congressional School

Falls Church, VA

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Booker T. Washington National Monument

Roanoke, VA

Saturday, February 28, 2020

Mariners Museum 

Self Made Men - Lincoln & Douglass

Newport News, VA 

Saturday, March 7, 2020

Christopher Newport University

Center for American Studies

Newport News, VA

Saturday, March 14, 2020

James Hurst Elementary

Portsmouth, VA

Monday, March 23, 2020

Bristoe Station Civil War Battlefield 

Prince William County Public School

Thursday, April 16-17th, 2020 

Monarch Academy Public Charter School

Glen Burnie. MD

Tuesday, 28 April 2020

RISE United Methodist Faith Community

Harrisonburg, VA

July 4, 2020 

Convention Days

Women's National Historical Park

Seneca Falls, NY

July 18-20, 2020

Frederick Douglass & Harriet Tubman

In partnership with

African American History Association of Maryland

Frostburg, MD

Saturday, October 17 , 2020